Mother’s Day Miracle!

Yes indeedy! It was a mother’s day Miracle!

Rejoice people! I found my books! Woot!

I was so stressed out when I couldn’t find them. Luckily they were right where my brother said they’d be. Well, maybe not exactly where he said they’d be but pretty damn close.

I also found a few other books I had forgotten I even had. Plus!

So now I have my Death Gate Cycle and my copy of Dune back on my shelf and everything is at peace.

Let’s see, what else have I to tell you on this fine day…

I went down to visit my brother and his girlfriend this weekend. That was decent. We got to meet Megan’s cats, Momma, Bela, and Lugosi. Man is Bela an attention whore! Whew. They were cute though. Lugosi was a little chicken (though he did rub against my hand at one point much later in the evening).

But anyway, we all took a trip to Augusta. We stopped in a Cosmic Charlie’s. My mom had been wanting to check it out for a while now since we hear the commercials for the place on the radio constantly. To be honest, yes, they did have some cool stuff here and there, but I wasn’t all that impressed by the place. Especially the downstairs “rabbit hole.” I mean, come on! They’re selling pot paraphernalia and calling it tobacco pipes! Please. No one smokes tobacco from a bong people!

But anyway, after we came back from Augusta we went to the movies. Why is this such a big deal, you ask? Well, I’ll tell you. I haven’t been to the movies in quite some time. Over…I think…two years. It felt kind of weird actually. Why, I can’t really say. But it did.

We saw “X-Men Origins: Wolverine.”

Now, I thought the movie was very decent. I loved the fact they included Remy LeBeau (Gambit for you non-fanatics that may not know who Remy is). But I could launch into a whole spiel about what they did wrong concerning the story. Like Deadpool. They completely screwed his character up at the end. Though Ryan Reynolds did perfectly as the character in the beginning. I won’t go into it though. I’d be here all night pointing out the little things that didn’t quite jive with the comic and other things that were completely made up for the sake of the film. I think X-Men was one of the few comics I actually tried to follow as a kid (so I like to think I know what I‘m talking about). Mostly because I thought Wolverine was cool and Gambit was hot…… What? Don’t look at me like that. Yeah I said it. I meant it too. I thought (and still do) that Gambit was hot. I could care less if he’s a comic book character who’s the product of someone’s imagination. That means little to me.

Ok. That rant’s complete.

Carry on with your lives, mortals. Carry on.

Now….Anything else….hmm…

Oh, I played procrastinator again this weekend, hardcore. I left my poor camera sitting in the bag all weekend, begging to be let out. My bad. It’s official.…I fail at photography.

But I do believe that is all I have to report for now. More to come…hopefully.

Keep on rockin’ on!

[^_^]

~A.M.

P.S.
If you haven’t already, go give your mom a hug! It’s her day damnit!

Temporarily Distracted By A Shiny Object…

Wow, I haven’t updated in a while. I figured it was about time so, Ta Da! Here I am again! I’m sure you’re excited. I can feel your enthusiasm through my keyboard. Damn, that’s some hardcore enthusiasm you’ve got going on there. Whew.

But anyway, this is just to update people on what I’ve been up to.

I’ve been taking photos here and there. Yes, rejoice! I’m beginning to break out of my non-creative slump! Woot!

The big thing in the last few days though was a cookout at my brother’s and his girlfriend’s place. The only people I really knew there was my brother and his girlfriend, oh and my mom too. [^_^] But people introduced themselves, which I’m not used to, and things got kicked off. Then the best part, the crazy ferret lady showed up with her babies (by babies I mean the ferrets obviously)! Oh man they were adorable. Zohan VonOtter and Thumper VonOtter. Those little guys were hilarious! I got to hold Zohan! He kept trying to crawl into my shirt for some reason. I’m telling myself he liked the smell of my deodorant but I’m thinking he just wanted a peek at the chi chis. Either’s possible I guess.

Now, I’ve wanted a ferret for like…ever. But I have cats. Not only would they be mean to one if I brought it home, they’d hate me for it.

Speaking of cats, mine just sneezed all over me and my computer. Nice. Thanks Tig. I appreciate it. Ek!

But anyway, getting back to my story here, I got a few cute pictures of the crazy little ferrets. Man those things move fast! Holy crap! Every time I started to press the shutter button, bam! They moved. Oi. I managed to catch them a few times.

And speaking of catching, Thumper caught me at one point. It was so cute. He was hopping along behind me and when I stopped and looked down he just kept right on going and pretty much head butted my ankle. Silly little thing. Silly.

So, all in all it was a decent day. The weather was nice, the company was decent (until people started to get drunk. That’s when I remove myself from the area), and there was plenty of food for everyone. I think everyone had a good time.

Let’s see, what else, what else…? Um…

Oh! I may have a lead on where my missing books are! Woot! I asked my brother at the cookout if he had seen them, cause I thought maybe I had leant them to him and forgot, though I know he wouldn’t have wanted to borrow the Death Gate Cycle, but possibly the copy of Dune. He said he didn’t have them and told me that while he was at dad’s going through stuff he had stored in the shed there he came across a tote with books in it and he says he thought he saw the books I was looking for in there. Now, I have mixed feelings about this. On one hand I’m thrilled I might find my books and on the other I’m wondering why I would have ever put them in a tote out in the freakin’ shed of all places! I guess I’ll find out the next time I’m down at dad’s.

*crosses fingers* Please let them be there and be in decent shape. Please, please, please.

And one last tidbit I guess I could share, I found my NYIP (New York Institute of Photography) student advisor on twitter! Yay! I added him and he added me (though I don‘t know if he knows I‘m an advisee. I told him today though so he should!). This should be interesting.

Speaking of my photography course and school, etc. I should probably get busy on that. I have all the lessons read and tests done, now I just have to finish the photo projects and send them in. Woot! If I can crack down and do some serious work, I could probably have everything sent in by the end of the month. Yeah. That’s my short term goal. Finish my projects and get them sent in by the end of the month. You people hold me to this ok? Keep me on task so I don’t slack off.

Ok, I guess that’s enough for now.

Keep on rockin’ on!

[^_^] ~A.M.

Slacker Extraordinaire

So, here I am, playing on the internet when I should be doing something productive.

What could be more productive than playing on the internet?

For me, plenty.

One, I could be printing out some photos and getting them framed. I’d like to be ready when my professor tells me I can put a show up in the campus gallery (and I’m hoping that’ll happen sometime next year or soon after). But somehow I tend to get off on something else when I start that project. Somehow I find a way to procrastinate even though it’s something I know I need and want to get done.

Oi vey. And I’m not even Jewish!

And two, I could be writing. Oh yes. Writing. My novel has sat there, untouched, unloved, and alone for the past two months now. I’m getting to a point where I’m disgusted with myself for it. One of my new year’s resolutions was to write five pages every day, five days a week. I did well in January when I got down about 100 pages but in February, something happened. I missed a day, which turned into two, which turned into a week, and well, next thing I knew, the entire month was over. Yeah yeah, I know, I deserve to be slapped. Just not too hard please.

But speaking of writing, and getting off the topic of this post, I’m thinking of titles. Anyone have any ideas for a title suitable for a science fiction novel?

I know, damn it! Here I am, thinking of titles for my next novel when the first one isn’t even been halfway finished. That’s me though. I start one project and jump to another, then another, then yet another without ever really finishing one. Then either I get bored and abandon one or two completely or, a deadline creeps up and I’m panicking wondering how I’m going to finish everything.

Luckily, I have no deadlines where my writing is concerned (or the photos for that matter). I’ve tried to set goals. Well, I have set goals but attaining them is another story. I’ve tried to set a schedule. Well, I have set a schedule but keeping to it is another story still. Maybe I need someone in an unofficial capacity to set a deadline for me and make up some reward if I meet it or a punishment if I don’t. Maybe that would get me off my ass and make me a bit more productive.

I need help to shake my tendency to procrastinate, to shed my title as “slacker extraordinaire,” and get down to business. I need to get things done but I need a swift kick in the ass to do it. Unfortunately though, I’m not limber enough yet to get my foot into the proper position to kick my own ass. Wanna help?

Keep on rockin’ on!

[^_^]

~A.M.

Why Are Construction Crew’s Sign Turners Such Morons?!

Honestly. Why?

I don’t get it. They get paid good money to just stand there and turn a freaking sign but they all have this pissed off attitude and treat people like crap. Then they wonder why people yell obscenities or flip them the bird all the time.

For example. Yesterday. My mother and I were on the road. We came upon some construction (obviously) and the old guy they had manning the sign had the “slow” side facing us. Just as we got within twenty or so feet from him he quickly flipped the sign to “stop.” What the hell? We could see to the other end of the construction and there were no cars waiting. In fact, the only car that was coming hadn’t even reached that end’s sign turner. So why were we made to stop? I have no idea. But then, the guy just had to make things even more stupid. We came to a stop about ten feet away from him. A little closer than people should normally stop when confronted with a sign turner on a road construction crew but still a decent distance away. For some reason the fool kept pointing his little walkie-talkie at the pavement in front of him, motioning for us to get closer. Why? Again, I have no idea. But we complied. After which he gave us one of the dirtiest looks. I wanted so badly to flip him the bird but then he’d probably have taken down our license plate number and fabricated a huge story about how we endangered him by getting too close or something stupid.

Then….Oh yes, there’s more. Then, a few miles down the road we came to an intersection. Now let me set this up for you. This intersection was shaped like a “T.” The arms of the T made up one road and the trunk of the T was another. We were at the stop sign of the intersection (the trunk of the T). Follow me? Now, from our point of view, there was a bridge to our left (in fact that was the direction we were headed in. The construction was being done on said bridge and there was of course a sign turner posted at the intersection. This guy (another old guy) had his sign on the “slow” side. He let a few trucks go by and flipped his sign to “stop.” “Yeah? So?” you ask? Well, the thing was, his sign was pointed at the people on the road coming from our right, not at us. So we thought, ok, he’s letting us go too. So mom started to go but he looked at us and yelled, shaking his head no. So, we stopped. Then seconds later, he waved us on. What the hell? Make up your fucking mind dude! And next time make sure you either have your sign positioned in a way that everyone at the intersection who needs to stop can see it, or let the people who can’t see it know by holding up your hand. How hard would either of those be, really? Again, I wanted to yell an obscenity or flip the bird, but I behaved myself.

So yeah, why do all construction crew’s sign turners have to be such freaking morons? I’ll never understand it. I mean, do they not train these people? Do they just hand them a walkie-talkie and a sign and say “go for it”? You’d think they’d teach these people how to handle different situations, like say, people at an intersection? Come on, if you have construction near an intersection you should really have more than one sign turner. You know? One for each way. But that’s just common sense I guess. And we all know how rare common sense is these days.

And as far as the construction itself? Really, if you can slap up a temporary bridge that can weather the onslaught of heavy traffic use in only a few hours, then why the hell does it take so freaking long to repair/rebuild the actual bridge? Really now? Why does it take so long for construction crews to do anything? In fact, I think both sections of the construction we went through were in the same stages they were the last time we went through. And that was almost a month or so ago!

Next time you go through some construction take a look around and I can almost guarantee what you’ll see. Anywhere from two to six guys wearing white hats standing around/talking to each other, one or two people with yellow hats in/on/around machinery, and maybe one or two other yellow hat people. And those two other yellow hat people are the only one’s doing work.

Ah. I just answered my own question there. That’s why it takes construction crews so long, because only one or two people are actually working at any given time.

There. That’s my rant about construction crew’s and their sign turners.

Let’s see, what else do I have to tell you people?

Um, well, I still can’t find my books. In fact, another has been added to the MIA list. My copy of Frank Herbert’s “Dune.”

So, the running total of missing books is up to 8 now. That makes me sad.

I guess that’s all for now.

Keep on rockin’ on!

[^_^]

~A.M.

So, Here We Are Again…

Yes, indeed.

Blogging for the masses even though over half of them don‘t know I exist. Hurrah!!

Anyway, I haven’t updated in a few days so I figured I’d do something to correct that. So, Ta Da! Here’s an update! Woot!

Let’s see now, what have I been doing lately? Well, I got the walls in my office painted. That’s something at least. Maybe now that the physical office is on its way toward completion the business will follow.

What business you ask? Well let me tell you.

I’m a photographer. I’m starting my own photography business. I plan to do portraits as well as sell art prints.

For those of you that already knew that….well, you’re awesome and you deserve some skittles!

Let’s see….What else….

Well, I’m a bit sad about a few things at the moment. Things I can, and intend to change soon. One being my writing. I have so many ideas bouncing around in my skull like a lunatic in a padded room. That’s all well and good. But what saddens me is the fact that I can’t seem to bring myself to sit down and get those ideas out. I’m having a hard time exorcising the demons so to speak. And that makes me sad.

I’m a good writer. Don’t laugh. I am. My mom told me so (well, she and my college English professor). My biggest problem is motivation, or, lack there of. That and the marvelous procrastination gene passed on to me by my father. Thanks daddy!

I guess I’m just waiting for something. I’m not really sure what that something is though. I’m telling myself that its my office. I’m waiting until it’s finished. But honestly, that’s a poor excuse. It’s in a state now where I could be down there writing and doing photography stuff, but I’m just not doing that for some reason. Lack of motivation? Probably. Procrastination? I’m sure.

I’ll have to work to change that though. Um…I’ll start working on changing that, tomorrow.

As for the other thing I’m a bit sad about…Some of my books have gone AWOL.

If you know me, or know anyone that knows me, you probably know that I’m an avid reader and that I value and treasure my books like they were my children. I mean, I get horrified and sick when I see someone toss out a book or worse, when I see someone on a design show destroy one in order to make some ugly coffee table base or something equally stupid. I love books. Just the look of them, the feel of them in my hands, the smell of them….wait, I better stop, this is starting to sound a bit sexual and that’s not what I’m aiming for. At least, not in this post!

Anyway, my books. I tend to know where all my books are at any given moment so I have little to no trouble putting my hands on the one I need or want to read. But unfortunately, I think I’ve misplaced some. A series. That’s right people, a whole freakin’ series. That’s seven books to be exact. I don’t know how I did it or when I did it, but I lost them. I can’t for the life of me find them and I’ve looked everywhere. I don’t remember loaning them out, especially the whole series. I don’t tend to do that. In fact, the only person I trust enough to loan my books to, because I treasure them so much, is my brother, and I don’t think he would have borrowed this particular series (not his style).

Oh yeah, you’re probably wondering what the series is. Even if your not, I’ll tell you, cause hey, its my blog and I can!.

“The Death Gate Cycle” by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman.

Seven books of fantasy coolness. Well, from what I remember, they were cool. I got the series way back in high school. Figured it was time I look into them again. But when I went to look into them…what should I find? Well, nothing. Which is my point here. I can’t find them anywhere and it makes me sad.

So onward goes my search for both my motivation to write and the Death Gate Cycle novels.

I’ll be sure to let everyone know when I find one or the other. Or, if I get lucky and find them both! That’d be damn cool!

I guess that’s all for now folks.

Keep on rockin’ on!

[^_^]

~A.M.